Project Backpack

I believe in them. I look for them. Mark & I teach the boys to participate in them.

This past week with a lot of help from my friends, I was involved in one. My oldest son Andrew attends school with 4 girls who lost everything in the San Bruno fire. One of them lost her mother and sister. As I read the principals email two weeks ago, I cried.

I cannot imagine losing everything.

I knew what I needed to do, but needed to call on my “people”

The first person I contacted was my good friend at Timbuk2. I order a lot of bags from Timbuk2 for my nurse coworkers and knew they would help. They generously donated 4 Swig backpacks……..very nice.

I was then on a mission to FILL them…every pocket, every inch.

I emailed my coworkers and got them on board. Thank you! PICU nurses ROCK!!!!

Then, and only then, I asked my BFF, my real BFF, the one who has helped me put together bake sale after bake sale, holiday party after holiday party…we may no longer work together, but we make the BEST team.

Kristin heard the story, put on her best creative hat and not only scored Coach wristlets, she spent the day with me picking out the “fillings” love her………

We were two women on a missionย and we did GOOD!!!!!

Every item passed OUR comfort test and we ended our day at The Ghirardelli Chocolate Factory Outlet, just to add that perfect bit of chocolate!!! We did enjoy some chocolate ourselves, in 100 degree heat no less…..I am lucky it did not melt in the back of the “swagger dog wagon” ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday, when I dropped off our labor of love, the principal said, ย “Can we take a look in one?”

Besides the handmade cookies, (thank you Ann) on top, there was a bag filled with makeup from Benefit (a teens dream company) and he said ย “Oh,ย the girls will love that makeup”

It is interesting it was 4 girls who we were making the bags for, but that made it fun for me who only knows boy things sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚ ….. no green army men in THIS bag ๐Ÿ™‚

THANK YOU to all who helped, listened and supported….Kristin said it will be one big goody bag for the girls as they open it.

We DO love a good goody bag in the Lobre household ๐Ÿ™‚

A Teen's DREAM!

Thank you Kristin ..... my Coach outlet connection XOXOXOXOX

