For most of my 25 year nursing career, I had a friend.

Not just ANY friend.

She was THAT friend.

We could look at each other across the room and KNOW what the other was thinking.

Every month for many years, we had to attend these LONG leadership meetings that went on and on and we never resolved anything……

“Lets talk about it next month was always the consensus”

We had this private joke.

When the meetings went on too long or our sarcasm got the BEST of us, we would motion like we were sticking a fork in our eye.

It was our way of saying REALLY?

The fork joke stayed with us for many years and we even gave each other random plastic forks as gag gifts to signify our connection……..

When I saw this quote I laughed and cried at the same time.

My fork friend passed away suddenly 5 years ago.

It was one of the saddest days in my adult life.

I was paralyzed and couldn’t function for many weeks.

I still have MANY days…….

Now as I go through my life , I run across plastic forks in the oddest places

and KNOW they are from her telling me to

carry on when I don’t want to and be strong when I want to give up.

She was THAT friend to me.

I want to take a moment and thank the many friends I have in my life right now.

One text, one phone call, one hey and YOU are there for me.

YOU mean the WORLD to me and I am so blessed.

THANK YOU for helping me get through the many FORKS in my ROAD of LIFE

YOU are ALL LOVED!!!!!

