5492852bfd148f7dd425bbda7420a3cbDonna Summer may have sung the song, but I feel like I LIVED the song

Hard couple of weeks……Dealing with VERY sick patients who pulled…… tugged……. YANKED at my heart…….

One young man was so sick we had to institute the “Massive Transfusion Protocol”which meant pushing blood so fast to save his life…….

Coolers filled with blood products 

IT was QUITE a NIGHT…..

THAT patient WALKED out of the PICU a week later

My greatest gift that night besides “working hard for the $$$$” was allowing the parents 2.5 hours of uninterrupted sleep in the room while their son was in surgery to find the bleeding.

I felt so much gratitude from his family for the gift of sleep…..”works hard for the $$$$$ pays off!!!”

My next pt was an 11-year-old  girl who was very sick, but stable enough to remind me of my OWN 12-year-old son…..she baked like him…….she was kind like him….

I cried in my car on the way home……

f828ea7858e26ecc34cbab2738cd992f

The morning after I worked with her she asked me “Who will be my day nurse?”

I told her someone very nice as she was such a nice patient.

She said “Well  THAT is YOU right?”

Be still my “knows too much PICU nurse heart…..”

One week later, she is now on the liver transplant list fighting hard for her life……

The parking garage heard many tears in the last 2 weeks……..BUT

PICU nurses also KNOW how to have FUN...

IMG_2475Enter our Holiday Party.. ……Great Gatsby style………I MAY have worn THESE…….

IMG_2434With THIS my new favorite BLACK dress….

mePhoto credit Andrew Lobre who takes pics so fast I didn’t even smile……. LOVE HIM 🙂

IMG_2479

