d5f3e78255190a2dd0c9610526240c10

Call it a job hazard…..

I just know that even after almost 29 years as a PICU nurse, I still feel so much for those in my care…… Especially when it hits home.

Last night, I helped to admit a previously healthy 10 month old boy who had been throwing up for no reason. His mother was so distraught, all alone with her husband at home with her two other children. I helped settle her in the PICU, brought her some water and juice and tried to calm her fears.

Her son was quite ill, taken quickly to CT Scan that showed some damage to his bowel and he was soon being rushed to surgery.

Now this is where the close to home part comes in……..

The mother kept asking my coworker and I “He’s gonna be ok right? You guys have seen this before and they are fine after right?”

My heart got so heavy…. Luckily my coworker was more composed and provided her with the best answer he could.

remember-why-you-made-this-decision

When my middle son was 18 DAYS old, he started throwing up bile…

We rushed him to the doctor and were quickly told he could have a serious bowel obstruction. We were sent to Kaiser SF where an incarcerated umbilical hernia was diagnosed and he was taken to surgery that was performed by a world renowned pediatric surgeon I knew from UCSF who just happened to be covering that Saturday!

All went well…he’s now 18 YEARS old, BUT I remember THAT day like it was yesterday and the memories are strong …..

So how did it all go last night?

The patient did well and I did what any night nurse would do…showed the Mom lots of TLC and made sure she got all the information and support she needed…

THEN…

I came home this am and cried…..

ff8e24bfe7a837ac06d52b7aa3567049

